*~CH~* Time Lapse Clothing Creation

February 10, 2010

This is not meant to be a “tutorial” with step-by-step instructions on how to go about replicating the design. It’s more like a showcase of just how much work and fiddling goes in to designs. I am a big fan of time lapse videos so I thought I’d capture one of my own creations taking shape. This outfit was made over the course of a day and took roughly eight hours to complete. More details after the snip…

Tools used:
Photoshop- for the painting
Camstudio- for the screen recording
FRAPS- for in-world recording
Sony Vegas- for post processing
Soundtrack- Fiona Apple: Slow Like Honey

A big thank you goes to Abu Nasu and his TechSlop wiki… hopefully this demonstrates just how much I rely on his Photoshop goodies to pull off this level of detail.

Click here to launch an SLurl and visit us In-World!

Clicking on the picture below will take you to the XStreet listing.

*~CH~* Pin-Up Girl- Valentine

15 Responses to “*~CH~* Time Lapse Clothing Creation”

  1. Greebo said

    That is a seriously inspiring video!! I’m only just starting out creating clothes in SL, I’d love to get to your standard someday.

    I use Photoshop CS3. What is the program you use where the UVs for the sides are joined to the back? Is that a part of the 3d object painting in CS4 or an external program?

    • claireharford said

      The “3d preview” of the avatar in the the T-Pose is part of Photoshop Extended, HOWEVER… That magical, mystical, mindblowing filter that swaps between different UV maps (template looking things) is not part of my fancy version of Photoshop.

      Multi Chan Hax is a photoshop plugin/filter written by Abu Nasu and is available on his TechSlop site. Any program capable of loading an .8bf filter can use it.
      http://tech-slop.serveit.org/wiki/index.php?title=Multi_Chan_Hax

      So far I’ve personally tested it on PS CS3, PS CS4 (standard and extended), Photoshop Elements 7 and The GIMP 2.6. The preview option is crippled in The GIMP, but the filter does work if you use PSPI. I’ve also been told it works fine in PaintShop Pro, but I’ve never used it so I can’t confirm that.

      Multi Chan Hax is relatively easy to pick up but almost impossible to explain *laughs*. That’s the main reason why I don’t have the guts to write out a full-blown tutorial for it. The filter is suited to people who learn through “doing” rather than “following”… I hope that makes sense.

      I’m glad you found the video inspiring and I wish you all the best for your future creations. :)

  2. Mordakine Zero said

    Hi i would like to thank you for putting up your timelapse video and it looks awsome! I was wondering if you could perhaps make a video tutorial on how you did some of the techniques you did wih using the MCH filter by pulling out a stretched copy of the top and layed it on the MCH template and created the shading then brought it back to the normal template. Or maybe even sending the whole video out with normal speed? Once agian thank you in advance.

  3. shanell tigerpaw said

    Thank you for a great tutorial, i am drooling lol, but i am totally with Mordakine Zero, PLEASE can we maybe get the video in normal speed? You say the MCH filter impossible to explain, but there are some basics we need to understand about applaying those unusual templates to the 3d model… So if not you, maybe the video might help…

    *Sorry for an awfull englis, its not my native language

  4. claireharford said

    “This outfit was made over the course of a day and took roughly eight hours to complete.”

    This particular video was meant for inspiration not instruction. As impressive as it is (can I say that without being full of myself?) it is also very deceptive. This was captured as a time lapse video- meaning one snapshot of the screen every 20 seconds replayed at a rate of 24 frames per second (or something like that) so there is no slower or longer version available.

    As I said, my goal for this video wasn’t to create a tutorial. It was just a little taste of Abu’s MCH filter, I like to tease. ;)

    Here is a link to the maker himself.
    Multi Chan Hax Head
    It still lacks thorough instruction (eg: no hand holding, more lightbulb information). It is a rough and ready guide on how MCH does what it does. If you can wrap your head around the theory of it you should be able to use it. I hope that makes sense. *giggles*

    The simple truth is- even though I’ve been using MCH for two years or thereabouts, even though I technically understand the sheer brilliance of how he’s done it- to explain the filter on a ten minute youtube tutorial in a way that 2d texture artists can understand the 3d aspects of it is something that’s beyond me.

    That being said, I’m still considering making an MCH tutorial. I’m not going to promise anything (I’m currently on hiatus from SL for a while) but I am considering it.

  5. DivX said

    Hi. Really nice hit! I have a question about the T-Pose – which model you used and how did you do the “real time” texture on it. Thank a lot and have a nice day :)

    • claireharford said

      The avatar mesh I used in this video were originally from Robin Wood and they were uploaded to the Second Life forums. The old forums have been archived since then and I’m not sure if they’re available on her website. I’m pretty sure you could find (or make your own) similar set from other sources. If you’re technically savvy enough, Pheonix should have an option to export your own personal shape as an .obj.

  6. Sunny said

    Really awesome! I realize that MCH is a GREAT and awesome new way to explore SL clothing. I am a little confused about the whole obj file, and how you’re doing that. I understand UV Mapping and whatnot perfectly fine, but I’m still a little bit confused about how you did that. Granted, I’m also a little confused about some things, like, opening a template with, say, the shirt and pants, and then moving th parts over to the other templates. I’m assuming that it has something to do with the channels, but I guess I’ll figure out, someday, how it works. ^^; Too bad there aren’t more tutorials! But I suppose this is something I have to pick at. Anyway, thank you for all your tutorials and whatnot; I appreciate them.

  7. rockie72 said

    Wow that video went way to fast. Too bad when you did the timelaps. It was not a 10 min video, instead of 5mins :(

    • rockie72 said

      PS. Can you tell us please. When you used the flitter for the top and bottom. Which Multi Chan Hax numbers and files did you use. I have tried watching your video many times and the only this I got from it was a dizzy head and a upset stomach for it moving so very fast. please help! I know this was not ment to be a tutorial. But it would be great if you make more tutorials for clothing making with Multi Chan Hax and viewing textures in Photoshop cs3 or better in 3d mode. Have a great day!

  8. Ispiration said

    I would like the full version … but I know that this is impossibbile:)

  9. Kemo said

    I have been trying on the plugins for the Multi Chan. I really hope that this plugin can be open sourced or has a 64bit version for the photoshop 64bit CS5. Please let me know if you have a solution by email jobhesk [at] gmail [dot] com

  10. Hilo said

    Hello, I love you and your work! Your tutorials are amazing. Thank you very much for this video. I learned a lot even though it is not an exact tutorial. I do not understand and really inspires me is how you “who prepared” all the templates in order to smoothly move from them? Because I tried to do it also with multi chan hax and I have some problems. The first is that every time you translate clothes to another network is becoming poorer quality and cancel the individual elements. And in the end it looks tragically, I tried to see how the moment you decide to switch to another template. But it is so fast that I could not… I envy you the fluidity templat 3D, In my computer was horrible and the quality interrupts shows the awful clothes. Can it change?

    I’m sorry for my funny english. I Hope that you understand me. :)

  11. Lucky40 said

    The link is broke! Someone have other! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

